Homemade Christmas Gifts [Honeycomb]

I made this huge batch of nougat the other day. It tasted great. It also had its own personality. It was a bit of a free spirit – actually it was kind of sleazy. It wanted to throw itself all over the kitchen, over me, and just coudn’t take no for an answer.  The Blob of the candy world, it just wanted to keep oozing, and oozing… I will give it another go soon but in need of a quick-fix gift in the meantime, I opted for honeycomb instead. It’s safe and sure – well apart from when you throw in the bicarb and it threatens to flow over the side of the saucepan like molten lava…

Honeycomb

There are tons of recipes out there and I went with more or less the basic one that everyone seems to use.

Ingredients

  • 200g caster sugar
  • 120g Golden Syrup
  • 3 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • As many edible decorations as you can stomach (sorry)

Method 

  1. Mix the sugar and golden syrup in a saucepan. I found it turned into a fudge-like mass. Once it’s on the heat, don’t stir again but swirl it around if necessary.
  2. When you put the pan on the heat, quickly prepare your baking sheet. Line it with parchment and dust liberally with edible decorations, such as edible Christmas trees, gold stars, and pearlescent glitter. Tasteful is not exactly what you’re going for here.
  3. Let the mixture melt then come to a bubbling boil, it will darken considerably.
  4. Don an oven glove if necessary, take the pan off the heat and then dump in the bicarb and whisk briskly. It will mushroom dramatically.
  5. Pour onto the baking sheet and again, go wild with the glittery stuff. Leave it to set then smash it into pieces. Bag up and give it to people with an attached disclaimer about their fillings.

 

 


9 thoughts on “Homemade Christmas Gifts [Honeycomb]

  1. Ha ha – love this! *leave to set then smash it into pieces*. That’s the kind of fine detailing I can cope with when it comes to life in the gourmet lane.
    🙂

  2. Yum! Do you have any left to have worked out how long it lasts for, by any chance? And are cello bags enough to stop it going sticky? I randomly tried making honeycomb recently but it went soggy if left out in the air. Hadn’t thought to decorate it so ta for that little idea, my xmas batch will be all pretty now 🙂

    • Do you know what, there was still a small shard of it left in the fruit bowl (I know), tied up in a disposable plastic icing bag. While it’s not as crisp as it was, it’s perfectly edible. Unless I course I keel over shortly, as it’s now in my tummy. Still yum after 2.5 weeks.

  3. I tried this recipe on Sunday. I look all the glitter! Best thing ever.
    I then smashed it up and left it. The boyf piled it all up in the baking paper and now it’s all stuck together and more bendy.
    Is that normal?
    I mean, it still tastes great but I’m wondering if I should make a fresh batch closer to the big C-Day.
    x

    • Yeah it will lose a bit of the crunch although it does store relatively well in an airtight tin. I had some tied up in a disposable icing bag which was fine a fortnight later! But I’d say make a sheet and keep that whole, in a tin, then smash on day of eating.

  4. Pingback: Recipe: Honeycomb/Cinder Toffee — Rosalilium

Leave a comment